Soul45 DJs All 45 Mix


Here’s a treat for the Flea Market Funk family today. I woke up this am to this slice of goodness in my inbox. Southampton’s own Soul45 DJs has a new all 7″ mix out. As their motto goes: “No CDs, No Laptops, No Fakin’ the Funk!” There is definitely no fakin’ the Funk on this twenty two track belter of old and new tunes that includes hot wax from Rueben Bell, Wilson Pickett, Calvin Arnold, and Charles Bradley among others. Over the last two years, the night has hosted local and international acts alike, including Trojan Sound System, Eddie Piller, Public Service Broadcasting, Craig Charles, Don Letts, Hannah William & The Tastemakers, Freddie & The Freeloaders, Black Cat Boppers, The Fliks, DJ Format, Mr Thing, New Street Adventure and Afrika Bambaataa among others. It’s a night about the music, not the DJ technique. It’s about taking it back to the flea markets, car boot sales, and dusty charity shops where these little records with big holes go to die, only to be rescued by the Soul45 DJs. You see, like here at FMF, it’s all about the music. Whether it be Motown, Northern Soul, Disco, Ska, 60’s and 70’s Funk and Soul, Dancehall, or the latest Modern releases, they keep the floor filled and the people moving all night long. They reside at The Cellar in Southampton, the only place where you can hear 7″ on vinyl exclusively. I need to make it out to one of their nights, but the question is, who’s going to take me to St. Mary’s Park so I can see a Saints match? I need to see some some Rickie Lambert/ Jay Rodriguez goal action. A city rich with football history, now rich once again with music, brought to you exclusively by the Soul45 DJs.

Soul 45 Vol. 2 by Soul45 DJs

1. Ronnie Keaton – Ain’t Going Down For The Last Time
2. Reuben Bell – Making Love To Funk Music
3. Hot Chocolate – Bump and Dilly Down
4. Lonnie Liston Smith & The Cosmic Echoes – A Chance For Peace
5. Betty Harris – There’s a Break In The Road
6. Will Sessions ft Coko – Boss Lady
7. Calvin Arnold – Funky Way
8. Alvin Cash – Keep On Dancing
9. Charles Bradley – Now That Im Gone
10. Wilson Pickett – Soul Dance No 3
11. Eddie Floyd – On A Saturday Night
12. Jimmy Ruffin – Everybody Needs love
13. Spyder Turner – You’re Good Enough For Me
14. Etta James – Somthing’s Got A Hold On Me
15. Wynonie Harris – Bloodshot Eyes
16. Bobby Day – The Bluebird The Buzzard & The Oriole
17. Night Train – No More Heroes
18. Martha Reeves & The Vandellas – I Want You Back
19. Danny White – Keep My Woman Home
20. The Meters – I Need More Time
21. Sir Mack Rice – Dark Skin Woman
22. The Get Up – Get Lucky

Stream the mix here.

Download here.

More info at the Soul45 DJs website.

Keep Diggin’!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s