DJ Andy Smith – Reach Up: Disco Wonderland Vol. 2

Hot off the record presses, we have a banging compilation on BBE by one of the hardest working DJs we know, DJ Andy Smith, who adds another arrow to his musical quiver with the second installment in his Reach Up: Disco Wonderland compilation series. The first compilation went over very well, and since it was dropped two years ago, his Reach Up collective has been busy performing at club gigs and festivals like Bestival, Eastern Electrics, and Festival No. 6 among others. Along with the South London Soul Train residency in Peckham (three years strong) and the Soho Radio show, Reach Up has been seriously reaching disco lovers from London to Lisbon and beyond with their get down sound.

Volume 2 takes the baton from Volume 1 and runs with it. These fresh takes rub nicely alongside tried and tested original tracks from the golden age of Disco for all to enjoy.

This compilation takes new disco tracks and puts them alongside forgotten boogie, funk, dance floor soul and early house gems to make this a much-needed disco compilation for 2020. Next to the forgotten tracks, there are contemporary sides that give a serious nod to classic dance floor heat. So whether it’s obscure West Indian pop artists or Chicago Disco royalty, the Reach Up series has a bit of something for every disco lover in the house. With production and remixes from Smith, as well as Full Intention & Nick Reach Up, Crissy Kybosh and Bad Bikini & Disco Circus, this one is a scorcher for sure. Available in a 3 LP set or double CD, there’s no way the crowd can sit down for this record.

Check the tracklist below:

A1 – Will Sessions & Amp Fiddler feat. Dames Brown – Lost Without You (DJ Andy Smith Re-Edit) (5:46)
A2 – The New Jersey Connection – Love Don’t Come Easy ( 06:39)
A3 – Ted Taylor – Ghetto Disco (7:00)

B1 – Full Intention & Nick Reach Up feat. Jazz Morley – Night Of My Life (5:12)
B2 – Cela – I’m In Love (7:18)
B3 – Chain Reaction – Dance Freak (6:44)

C1 – Disco Circus – Get Up and Dance (Bad Bikini Re-Edit) (7:00)
C2 – Gregg Diamond – Star Cruiser (6:04)

D1 – The Gibson Brothers – Heaven (7:25)
D2 – The Emotions – You’re The Best (6:19)

E1 – Greg Henderson – Dreamin (7:24)
E2 – Claudja Barry – Sweet Dynamite (4:12)

F1 – Serious Intention – You Don’t Know (Crissy Kybosh Remix) – (7:00)
F2 – The Armada Orchestra – For The Love of Money (6:22)
F3 – Ronnie Jones – You And I (5:56)

Listen to a sampler of the comp below:

Pre-order the record here, available Jan. 24th on BBE.

Dig Deeper!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s