The Mighty 388’s – Hendricks Theme

12614_411863435549117_487170349_nOoooh wee Detroit’s Funk Night Records is back once again with another heavy Funk 45 that we need in our record boxes. Guess what? You do too. This time it’s heavy, heavy on the organ grind with a hot platter from The Mighty 388’s. Made up of Jake Najor on drums, Deron Gant on guitar, Jesse Bowen on bass, and Tim Felten on organ/electric piano, this quartet drop one of the heaviest records of the year out of the Motor City camp run by Frank Raines.

With a sound of the late 60’s/ early 70’s Soul Jazz bands that were hitting the Chitlin’ Circuit (think Brother Jack McDuff, Jimmy Smith, or Jimmy McGriff), The Mighty 388’s are the real deal. We haven’t heard a genuine organ sound like this since the Poets of Rhythm had 30 plus names. Seriously. This is the Funk record at the moment, and we’re excited it came cross our inbox this week. This is the kind of stuff we are talking about, and we know our brothers over at Hot Peas & Butta would agree. Do you want to hear about and Avril Lavigne/ Nickelback collaboration or do you want to be able to pick up a limited edition of a heavy Funk record that will still be relevant 20 years from now? That’s why sites like ours and HP&B bring the real deal, no BS, and all original content. Check out more of Funk Night’s artists and get yourself one of these (or two) great organ 45s. You won’t regret it.

Inquire about Funk Night Records here:

Keep Diggin’!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s