The Brasileiro Treasure Box of Funk and Soul

brazil4The lads at Cultures of Soul once again expand your mind and ears with this new box set of 45s from Brazil. They teamed up with Brazilian DJ/ historian/ music scholar Greg Caz from NYC to deliver a wide variety of Brazilian funk, soul, and psychedelic classics on everyone’s favorite format: 7″ inch. Whether you’re a Brazil newbie or someone who spent weekends at Tropicalia In Furs in NYC digging deep for the Brazilian sound, you will appreciate this set. Here’s what Caz had to say about the project:

“Without necessarily having a central theme other than funky nuggets from the first half of the 70s, we believe this compilation displays its own particular sense of logic, and that these songs ultimately all sound fantastic together. Regardless of one’s familiarity, or lack thereof, with artists like Antonio Carlos & Jocafi, Os Incríveis, Toni Tornado or Celia, the material on these 45s speaks its own truth and justifies their inclusion here. Many of these were originally available as singles, while others were taken from albums, but all are guaranteed to find their way into many DJ boxes and playlists.” – Greg Caz

The set itself comes in a glossy, custom 45 box and contains seven 45s, a booklet, and a poster. These forty fives were taken from some rare and funky 45s, album cuts, and essential rare groove tracks. Featuring known and unknown names (some may be totally unknown to many), this set follows up a Brazilian disco comp COS put out last year that was applauded by music lovers all over the world. Here’s the records you will get with the set:

1. Antônio Carlos & Jocafi – Quem Vem Lá
2. Os Incríveis – Paz E Amor
3. Toni Tornado – Bochechuda
4. Toni Tornado – Aposta
5. Emilio Santiago – Bananeira
6. Osmar Milito E Quarteto Forma – América Latina
7. 2001 & Beto – Labirinto
8. Trio Mocotó – Swinga Sambaby
9. Tom Zé – Jimmy, Renda-se
10. Eduardo Araujo – Kizumbau
11. Celia – A Hora é Essa
12. Franco – Ei, Você, Psiu!
13. Novos Baianos – Juventude Sexta e Sábado
14. Dom Salvador E Abolição ‎ – Uma Vida

Listen to each track and Pre-order this special box set, available on October 23rd here.

Keep Diggin’!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s